Home | Contact Us



Senator John A. Alario, Jr.
District - 8


Senator Alario, now in his third term as the State Senator for District 8, is the current Senate President, having been chosen by his fellow Senators for the leadership post for a second consecutive time at the beginning of the 2016-2020 legislative term. The Dean of the Louisiana Legislature previously served nine terms as the State Representative for House District 83, including two terms as Speaker of the House, from 1984-1988 and from 1992-1996.  The fifth in the nation to hold the top leadership post in both the House and the Senate, Senator Alario is the first Louisiana legislator to serve twice as Speaker of the House and twice as President of the Senate. 

 As Senate President, Senator Alario is chairman of the Interim Emergency Board and is a member of the State Bond Commission, the Revenue Estimating Conference, and the Joint Legislative Committee on Capital Outlay.  He also serves as an ex-officio member of the Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget and is an ex-officio non-voting member of all standing Senate Committees. During his first term in the Senate, Senator Alario chaired the Select Committee on Coastal Restoration and Flood Control, and was a member of the Senate Finance, Commerce, and Judiciary B Committees, the State Bond Commission, and the Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget.

During his service in the Louisiana House of Representatives, Senator Alario served as Chairman of the Appropriations, Ways and Means, and House Executive Committees, as well as Chairman of the Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget, and Joint Legislative Committee on Capital Outlay. He also served as a member of the Natural Resources, Retirement, House and Governmental Affairs, Municipal, Parochial and Cultural Affairs, Commerce, and Judiciary Committees, and the State Bond Commission, Interim Emergency Board, Revenue Estimating Conference, Legislative Budgetary Control Council, Joint Committee on Charities, House Legislative Services Council, Special Committee on Homeland Security, and the Louisiana Recovery District.

 Senator Alario has four children and seven grandchildren. He is a 1965 graduate of Southeastern Louisiana University, and the West Jefferson High School Class of 1961. He was a teacher with the Jefferson Parish School System from 1965-1966, and an Accountant from 1966-1972. Since 1972, he has been a Tax Consultant and owner of John A. Alario, Jr. Income Tax Service.

In 1994, the Louisiana House of Representatives unanimously passed a resolution designating a new committee room addition in the State Capitol as "Alario Hall." This distinction by the membership of the House of Representatives was in recognition of Speaker Alario's efforts and tremendous foresight in spearheading construction of additional committee rooms, so that the citizens of Louisiana have a place to offer input and participate in the legislative process.

Senator Alario served on the Governor's Advisory Commission on Coastal Protection, Restoration and Conservation, the Louisiana International Deep Water Gulf Transfer Terminal Authority, and the American Legislative Exchange Council Tax and Fiscal Policy Task Force. Other activities include membership in the Knights of Columbus, Westwego Volunteer Fire Department, and the National Society of Public Accountants. In 1973, he was elected to the Constitutional Convention. Senator Alario also served on the Board of the Louisiana Epilepsy Association, Task Force for Juvenile Facilities in Jefferson Parish, Development Advisory Board of Archbishop Shaw High School, West Jefferson Metroplex Civic Center Committee, and the Louisiana Kidney Foundation. From 1979 to 1985, he served as Chairman of the Louisiana Exposition Authority - the 1984 World's Fair in New Orleans.

 Senator Alario is the recipient of numerous honors and distinctions for his many years of service, including:

  Westbank Business and Industry Association's Legacy Award

  Jefferson Parish Public School System Distinguished Citizen Award

  Southeastern Louisiana University Golden Ambassador Award

  Chamber of Commerce Business Champion Award

  Professional Firefighters Association Outstanding Legislator Award

  Police Jury Outstanding Legislator Award

  Louisiana State Troopers Association Legislator of the Year Award

  Louisiana Federation of Teachers Representative of the Year Award

  ARC Association for Retarded Citizens Outstanding Legislator Award

  Southeastern Louisiana University Business Alumnus Award

  Jefferson Parish Marine Fisheries Loyal Support of Fishing Industry Award

  Alliance of Louisiana Developmental Centers Outstanding Legislator Award

  Southeastern Louisiana University Distinguished Alumnus Award

  Michael J. Yenni Lifetime Democratic Achievement Award

  Hale Boggs Outstanding and Dedicated Service to Community Award

  Waggaman Jaycees Distinguished Service Award

  West Jefferson High School Outstanding Alumnus Award

  Southeastern Louisiana University Support and Dedication Award

  Legislator Champion Award/LATAN

  Special Olympics Champion Award

  Mervin L. Trail, MD Founder's Award

  Louisiana Family Forum Family Advocate Award

  Right to Life Federation 100% Life Advocate Award for the 2008-2011 legislative sessions

  National Society of Collegiate Scholars Honorary Membership Award

  Louisiana Truancy Program Champion Award

  Extra Mile for Persons with Disabilities Leadership Award

  2017 Murphy J. "Mike" Foster Award for Extraordinary Contributions to Community and Technical Colleges in Louisiana

  2017 Family Advocate Award - Louisiana Family Forum

 LTPA 2017 Governmental Friends of Tourism

2017 Business Champion, Southwest Louisiana Economic Development Alliance

New Orleans & Companyís Lifetime Achievement Award

2019 Horsemenís Benevolent & Protective Associationís Triple Crown Award

 Senator Alario is also an inductee into the West Jefferson High School Hall of Fame and the Louisiana Political Hall of Fame. He was also named chairman of the 2015 Zurich Golf Classic in New Orleans.




Senator John A. Alario, Jr.

District Office
1063 Muller Parkway Westwego, LA 70094-5616

District Phone


E-mail Address

Legislative Assistant
Kathleen Doming

Related Links:
Session Information
Committees Assignments

Questions and comments may be directed to websen@legis.la.gov
Baton Rouge, Louisiana.